The virtue of gratitude

Published in last Saturday’s Daily Camera: (as printed)

I could go on and on about how I am grateful for my wife — and I’m sure she’ll ask me to “count the ways” when she reads this.  For now, I’ll thank her for showing me, and occasionally reminding of, the importance of gratitude.  Thanksgiving is her favorite holiday, as gratitude is about being thankful.

Recent psychological research has shown gratitude to be a fine virtue.  “There are really tangible, concrete benefits to being grateful,” says Professor Robert Emmons, a leading researcher in the field.  As the New York Times reports, “health improves, relationships get better, people are more active and enthusiastic. … Dr. Emmons said that even people who are lonely and isolated can become less so.” Check out his most recent book on the subject, simply titled Thanks!

Leave a comment

Filed under gratitude, psychology, published

Leave a Reply

