Keeping your own medical record

For a while I’ve been disturbed that I have better records of my car’s maintenence record than my own medical record.  (It’s about time I get it from graduate insitution…)   It’s 2006, and the state of technology concerning this seems quite behind.  Everytime I see a doctor I fill out a form (pen and paper!!) about my medical history.

Now, I realize that the medical industry is burdened with dozens or hundreds of regulations, medical records are a touchy subject regarding preexisting conditions and insurance.  Of course, the system is so messed up that a lifestyle choice such as smoking doesn’t increase your premiums if your health insurance is through your employer. Health insurance being tied to your employer, hence choking competition and job mobility — another fine legacy of the “New Deal.”  Thanks FDR!

Anyway, my simple question, which I posed to the admin staff at the podiatrist’s office was this:  Why not submit my medical history to my insurance company so they offices can download it when I make a visit?  Or why not have a on-line service that I can purchase that stores this info, independent of insurance, that a doctor’s office can retrieve at my request?  Well, apparently there’s at least one service like this: yourmedchart.com.    Hmm.

4 Comments

Filed under politics

4 responses to “Keeping your own medical record

  1. My sister is a dentist and I asked her once about the low-tech record keeping. She told me that in case there is a lawsuit or investigation of any kind it is convenient that the records are in her own handwriting.

    Frankly, I would like to have copies of my medical record but I don’t want my history floating online or even offline. Holistic medicine all you want, but my eye doctor doesn’t need to know what goes on elsewhere. Unless I have a major illness, as the site suggests (G’d forbid), I wouldn’t do it.

  2. My sister is a dentist and I asked her once about the low-tech record keeping. She told me that in case there is a lawsuit or investigation of any kind it is convenient that the records are in her own handwriting.

    Frankly, I would like to have copies of my medical record but I don’t want my history floating online or even offline. Holistic medicine all you want, but my eye doctor doesn’t need to know what goes on elsewhere. Unless I have a major illness, as the site suggests (G’d forbid), I wouldn’t do it.

  3. Andrew

    In the future, we’ll have a little chip implanted in our body with our medical records (and maybe our DNA), so we can just take it with us. Piece of cake.

  4. Andrew

    In the future, we’ll have a little chip implanted in our body with our medical records (and maybe our DNA), so we can just take it with us. Piece of cake.

Leave a Reply

