’70s and ’80s nostalgia & fashion

Today I saw a guy at the University of Colorado Engineering Center wearing the t-shirt shown to the left. Contra was a game for the original Nintendo Entertainment System of the late 1980s. Within seconds of seeing it, I started to play the games theme music, and I am still amazed at the detail with which I can recall it. I can even generate the sounds of some of the flame-thrower weapons. It turns out that the guy was giving a lecture at the meeting of game developers.

On a related note, I’ve been observing a couple of fashion trends. OK, since I’m noticing them they can’t be that new. (1) 70s style sneakers with very thin soles, no arch support, and a bowling shoe color scheme. These are probably useless for any sort of exercise or sport. Orange and brown are quite popular, but are probably on the way “out” if I’m noticing them. (2) Sunglasses. Someone pointed out to me that it’s now common for people to rest them on the top of their heads, as the Bitter Blogger has noted. I am not bitter about this, rather, just observing how something that would seems weird a few years ago is now acceptable, or even “cool.”

Another trend is the return of aviator sunglasses, also popular when my generation were children. Some of them have more metal than the traditional ones, and I have to admit, look sort of badass, and damn it, I don’t know why. All sunglasses can potentially be cool by their very nature: you can’t tell when the wearer is looking at you, which conveys status in that primate sort of way. Beyond that, perhaps it’s an early adopter phenomenon. If an extremely small minority is breaking the fashion trend, they are “weird,” but if that number grows just a bit, they’re “cool,” and when enough people adopt, it’s statistically normal.

That’s all for now. Surely there’s some real literature on fashion and evolution.

2 Comments

Filed under arts, entertainment, sports, psychology

2 responses to “’70s and ’80s nostalgia & fashion

  1. I sometimes hold my hair back with my glasses the whole day long, and nobody ever complained; even if they did, I would just say they are bitter.
    Now, if Ethan has something against it, I will toooootally reconsider.

  2. I sometimes hold my hair back with my glasses the whole day long, and nobody ever complained; even if they did, I would just say they are bitter.
    Now, if Ethan has something against it, I will toooootally reconsider.

Leave a Reply

