Jonathan Richman, NPR’s Marketplace, Walmart, Eagles

This is not the first post of this nature. Anyway, the show included a riff from Jonathan Richman’s “Lonely Little Thrift Store” after a segment on Walmart’s banking service. Good choice! They’ve used this riff before, and the album is sold on the Public Radio Music Store. Speaking of Walmart, I again saw South Park’s Something Wallmart this Way Comes, fabulous social commentary. Still, I should get around to reading Walmart & the Politics of American Retail. Back to radio, I’ve noticed my growing distaste for songs by The Eagles. I can’t think of another band that makes me change the radio station faster and more decisively.

6 Comments

Filed under arts, entertainment, sports, economics, gratitude, humor

6 responses to “Jonathan Richman, NPR’s Marketplace, Walmart, Eagles

  1. isthisreallyrequired

    Even Hotel California?

  2. isthisreallyrequired

    Even Hotel California?

  3. brian

    Well, anonymous friend from a San Francisco IP address, I haven’t switched stations from it, but I probably would. It’s rather laborious & plodding and Don Henley’s voice has urgency and drama for something I can’t quite indentify with. Having just read a song review at allmusic.com, I can appreciate it more. The cover by the Gypsy Kings from The Big Lebowksi – I’d stick with that.

  4. brian

    Well, anonymous friend from a San Francisco IP address, I haven’t switched stations from it, but I probably would. It’s rather laborious & plodding and Don Henley’s voice has urgency and drama for something I can’t quite indentify with. Having just read a song review at allmusic.com, I can appreciate it more. The cover by the Gypsy Kings from The Big Lebowksi – I’d stick with that.

  5. “Even” Hotel California???

    What kind of question is that? Wouldn’t that be the FIRST choice for switching?

    That’s like asking “Even Stairway to Heaven?” when talking about Led Zep!

  6. “Even” Hotel California???

    What kind of question is that? Wouldn’t that be the FIRST choice for switching?

    That’s like asking “Even Stairway to Heaven?” when talking about Led Zep!

Leave a Reply

