Thomas Schelling wins Nobel Prize, and my landlord

I learned from Will Wilkinson’s blog that economist Thomas Schelling won the Nobel Prize in Economics. I’d first read about his works through the term “Schelling Point” in an article by David Friedman.

Oddly enough, I think I experienced this phenomenon yesterday with my landlord. A few weeks ago the house has no water for more than 24 hours, and I spent the night at a friend’s house. I thought we should be reimbursed for at least two night’s rent, not just one. After talking it over with a housemate, I figured that $50 would be a good amount. Anything more seemed like too much. I brought this up with the landlord, and after some back and forth, in which I did not mention any numbers, he said the most he would give was … $50. Strange!

Leave a comment

Filed under economics, vignettes

Leave a Reply

