Election Day: what makes Statism a religion

This voting thing is getting out of hand. It’s becoming a four-letter word to me. On NPR this morning I heard that a woman flew from Eastern Europe to Michigan to vote, as she had not received her absentee ballot. She could have donated the cost of the trip to her local party as investment in votes for her cause, certainly more than one. I’ve read a few good articles on the ethics of voting, AgainstPolitics.com has a good collection, and I liked this Picking Neither of the Two Evils posted on LewRockwell.com.

I still can’t get over the idea the people want each other to vote, regardless of how. I’m pretty sure that many Democrats would prefer an 80% voter turn out, even if they all voted Republican. Same with the Republicans, but maybe to a lesser extent, as may, just maybe, the terms “Democrat” and “Republican” still actually mean something.

In other news, I was touched by this article about Nobel Prize winner Eric Cornell, who has been in the hospital for the past few days. What people say about him confirm my positive view of him, though I’ve never met him formally. I’ve seen him speak at CU, exercise at the Rec Center, and play softball. He has a great spirit, very positive, and I wish him the best.

Leave a comment

Filed under gratitude, politics

Leave a Reply

