Let’s race

I was biking home from work the other day, and a two kids, 6 and 9 years old, I’d guess, were riding toward me on “my side” of the street. Amused, I go the the left side, and suddenly they turn around on their tiny bikes, and say “Let’s race.” So we did, until I turned off to my driveway. Perhaps they were inspired by the Tour de France. In any case, it was nice; especially because my street has many immigrants from Mexico, and I suppose there are some cultural/language barriers, among the adults, at least.

How about this article about how the 9/11 hijackers passed through airport “security.”

Al-Mihdhar and Nawaf al-Hazmi had been known to be associated with al-Qaida since early 1999 by the National Security Agency, and were put on a terrorism watch list on Aug. 24, 2001.

Hmm, if I ran an airline, I might want to know something about my customers, and perhaps not sell tickets to such people? Might that even be something to advertise, along with, of course, pilots and crew who are trained to respond to terrorists with appropriate self-defense skills and tools.

Leave a comment

Filed under public policy, rant, vignettes

Leave a Reply

