Curb My Enthusiasm

The photos from the first private manned space flight are inspiring. Also, moviemistakes.com is a pretty neat site, despite the ads. Now on to my story, which could be an an episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm:

Since my softball game was rained out, I joined some friends at an Indian restaurant last night, where I saw a young woman wearing a white baseball/cycling-style hat. At first I thought she was on one of the teams in my campus league, but then figured she was not. Still, I was not sure, so I approach her table and ask if she plays softball. She replies my explaining that, no, she’s not on a team, and that she was not expecting to go out to dinner, that is, that she was under-dressed. I commented on her hooded sweatshirt, joked that “not everyone in the restaurant was talking about it,” and continued on my way to the restroom. A minute later, while washing my hands, I it struck me. Doh! The woman probably thought I was teasing her about playing softball, and that my purpose was to point out her being under-dressed, and not that I was sincerely asking if she played softball. Still, I considered clarifying that on my way back to my table, but it just seemed too odd. Sometimes you just can’t win. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under gratitude, technology & science, vignettes

2 responses to “Curb My Enthusiasm

  1. Anonymous

    Here’s your first comment.
    Maybe you should have asked her for a date to make up for your faux pas….

  2. Anonymous

    Here’s your first comment.
    Maybe you should have asked her for a date to make up for your faux pas….

Leave a Reply

