Facial hair, Harleys, and jokes

I have yet to find a review article about social psychology experiments testing people’s impressions of men with facial hair. I found some academic studies on WebofScience.com, and this humor site about the “evil goatee.” There’s also a book called One Thousand Beards. Surely Desomd Morris has something entertaining, and possible true, to say about beards. … Ah hah, a nice article in Slate sheds light on the topic.

OK, and what is it about Harley-Davidson motorcycles that it’s socially acceptable for them to be very loud? People tell me that Harleys must me modified to be so loud, too. Surely if I attached something to my Honda Civic that sounded like a Harley, a cop would pull me over for noise pollution, and if not, surely people would be pissed. I doubt riders of other motorcylces could get away with it. Now what about a Harley-clone? Is it OK for one of them to be loud? Here’s an article about it. The author expresses a sentiment I’ve noticed in myself

We have to admit that we’re not big fans of the sound of a hog once it gets much above 1/4 throttle. Under 1/4 throttle, though, the patented ‘potato-potato’ sound of a Harley that so many manufacturers have tried to duplicate is VERY cool. Even lots of people that wouldn’t admit it think it sounds pretty cool.

Yeah, I don’t get it. This morning I heard one, and while part of me was annoyed, another part of my thought it was pretty neat.

Good jokes from Prarie Home Companion’s Joke show:
Knock-knock .. Who’s there? … A control freak — OK, here’s the part where you ask A control freak who? //
How do you get a Unitarian family to leave town? … On their front lawn, set fire to a huge question mark.

2 Comments

Filed under humor, psychology

2 responses to “Facial hair, Harleys, and jokes

  1. Harley Davidson fans do tend to try to push the loud. It’s like a status symbol. Not everyone enjoys it, but that’s what the boys are competing for.

  2. Harley Davidson fans do tend to try to push the loud. It’s like a status symbol. Not everyone enjoys it, but that’s what the boys are competing for.

Leave a Reply

